Inquiry Panel

Sir Edwin Jowitt (Chairman)

who was a Justice of the High Court, Queen’s Bench Division, from 1988 to 2000. During part of this period he served as a Presiding Judge of the Midland and Oxford Circuit.  Before this he had been a Recorder of the Crown Court, a Circuit Judge and then a Senior Circuit Judge and the Honorary Recorder of Birmingham.

Sir Edwin Jowitt

Reverend Baroness(Kathleen) Richardson of Calow

is currently the Moderator of the Churches’ Commission for Inter Faith Relations.  She was the Moderator of the Free Churches’ Council of England & Wales and the President of Churches Together in England between 1995 and 1999.  She was previously the President of the Methodist Conference and the Chairwoman of West Yorkshire District from 1987.  Before this she was a Methodist minister in Denby Dale and Clayton West Circuit.

Baroness Richardson

Sir John Evans

currently advises the Football Association and others on security matters.  He was Chief Constable of Devon and Cornwall Constabulary between 1989 and 2002, during which time he was also President of the Association of Chief Police Officers.  Before that, he was Deputy Chief Constable of Surrey, and Assistant Chief Constable in the Greater Manchester Police. He began his service on Merseyside.  In addition to his consultancy work, he is currently involved in a number of committees and schemes, including being President of both the Devon and Cornwall Victims Support Schemes.

Sir John Evans